学术阅读写作提高进阶班

学术阅读写作提高进阶班(Rooster金鸡)分为 5- 7年级 Jr.Rooster 组和8年级以上Rooster组。此课程是为了英语水平已经达到标准值以上,并且想要提早为升学做准备,或是更进一步提升学术阅读写作以及辩证思考能力的学生而设置的。 在这个阶段,学生将会在进行高阶段的阅读,写作,演讲和学术研究调查技巧等方面的重点培养。通过互动式课程以及主题式探索学习来磨练学生的辩证思维以及逻辑。

 

学生们将会在一个向上并富有挑战的学习环境中学习,同时课上会涉及到大量的历史、时事、经典文化和文学小说等学习内容。通过这些课程,学生们能够最终写出高水准的各类文体的学术文章,并在辩论和演讲的环节准确表达自己的观点。

 

学生也会接触到大量复杂的观点和思想,譬如存在主义、政治结构以及文学理论等。我们在学术阅读写作进阶班的最后阶段结合了综合独立课程IIP (Integrated Independent Program) – 学生会根据自己所选主题,更深层次地进行自我导向学习,是一个类似于 IB 的课程设置。最终的课程结业是在老师和同学面前进行一个正式的作品展示演讲。

 

通过这个阶段课程的学习,学生们已经准备好并信心满满的在北美任何高等院校学术课程中取得成功。

 

学习目标

强化学术写作技巧

 

信心满满并流畅自如地写出各种类型的论文

进行高水平的文学赏析

理解复杂的文学概念

 

强化多方面学术知识

 

培养媒体素养

培养时事意识

建立贯穿历史文化和政治事件的知识

强化公众演讲能力

 

学会自信地表达观点

学会在正式场合进行有效辩论

(Tap to view teacher bio)

学生作品集

在 Little Mountain 小山学校,我们运用课题运用设计 (Design Cycle) 来培养学生的跨学科知识的能力。透过全方位多元化教育,学生将会接触各种影响世界的时事课题/难题,利用所学知识提出解决方案,最后在重新评估此方案。

关于英语测试

 

入学小山学校的第一步是英语测试。透过此测试,我们将会准确的知道您孩子的英语水平,并安排他到最合适的班级中。我们一般的测试是 $90.00。 年幼的孩子将会接受时间较短的测试 ($40.00)。若您报名课程,测试金额将会全额还给您。

报名英语测试

Enrichment Program

Academic Reading & Writing

Integrated Novel Study – Academic Reading & Writing Enrichment Program titled “Rooster” is the ultimate educational outlet for self-directed, self-motivated learners. Depending on the age of the students, we will place students in either the junior group or the senior group. Students in this program develop enhanced reading, writing, presentation, and research skills. Perhaps most importantly, however, students garner development toward critical thinking skills.

 

Students study in an engaging and challenging environment, where students are exposed to lessons from history, current events, popular culture and classic novels. Throughout these lessons, students are expected to write at a high calibre and express themselves eloquently in debate and presentation.

 

Students will explore complex concepts, such as existentialism, political structures, and literary theory. The culmination of this program is the Integrated Independent Program (IIP), where students engage in self-directed learning in a project of their choosing. The final project will involve a thesis presentation in front of a panel of teachers and peers.

 

The outcome of study in this program is confident students who are well-equipped to succeed in any North American post-secondary academic program.

 

Learning Objectives

Advance Academic Writing Skills

 

Become confident and fluent at writing a variety of essay types

Engage in literary analysis at a high level

Understand complex literary concepts

Engaged in Active Learning

 

Develop media literacy

Build awareness of current events

Build knowledge of cultural and political events throughout history

Hone Public Speaking Skills

 

Learn to confidently express opinions

Learn how to debate effectively in a formal setting

(Tap to view teacher bio)

Student Projects

At Little Mountain Learning Academy, we utilize the “Design Cycle” as a learning process to facilitate the development of cross-curricular intelligences. Through this holistic educational approach, students will be able to identify a real-world problem, apply what they have learnt to solve the problem, and finally re-evaluate the solution they came up with.

About Assessment

 

Assessment is the very first step for all Little Mountain students to ensure students are placed into the right class. This comprehensive assessment will give parents a complete picture of where their child’s current level is at. Our regular one-hour assessment is $90.00. An age-appropriate version of our assessment ($40.00) is used for younger children. The full assessment fee is refundable upon program registration.

Request an Assessment

⚡ by FormLift